The Commissioner calls Council into session and prorogues it; he sits with it only by invitation to explain or defend proposed expenditures, draft legislation or policy papers which he has placed before Council. All sessions are presided over by a Speaker who is appointed by Council from among its members for the duration of each Council but is given no specific responsibilities or authority under the Yukon Act. In practice, he conducts Council proceedings under Rules of Council which are an adaptation of Canadian parliamentary

procedures. A Clerk of Council controls the administrative side of its proceedings.

The matters on which Council can legislate are not significantly fewer than those enjoyed by the provinces. The main exceptions concern natural resources. These are a responsibility of the federal government which has to provide the heavy investments in transportation and other facilities needed to bring them into production. Most major policy matters are first placed before Council in the form of a Sessional Paper prepared by the Commissioner, and the draft legislation is then presented at the next session in the form of a Bill, although amendments to existing legislation may be processed concurrently with the Sessional Paper or without the assistance of this background information. Discussion is usually conducted with the Council resolved into Committee of the Whole, making it possible for the Commissioner, heads of departments and outside specialists to appear to give detailed information and advice on the subject concerned. Bills are given three readings and require the assent of the Commissioner before they become law as ordinances of the Territory. The Commissioner can reserve assent to legislation but rarely does so. As with provincial legislation, the federal government may disallow any ordinance within one year. New ordinances are published after each session; consolidated ordinances of the Yukon Territory are usually revised every ten years.

The role of the federal government. Direct federal involvement in the affairs of the territorial government extends from control of its constitution to responsibility for the operation of certain provincial-type services and for providing most of its finances. Beyond these special services, the federal government provides the usual range of national services such as the operation of Canadian Broadcasting Corporation radio stations, mail delivery and mainline airports. Full assistance under all national welfare programs is available in the Territory. Even with special financial assistance in many particular areas, the low volume of local revenues falls far short of meeting the high cost of services provided by the territorial government. The federal government picks up this financial deficit through annual fiscal arrangements known as Federal-Territorial Financial Agreements. The amount of federal financial assistance given to the territorial government is simply the difference between the forecast of revenues available to the territorial government and the forecast of the cost of a reasonable level of services to be provided by that government. In return, the territorial government forgoes any exercise of its authority to tax private and corporate incomes and to collect other corporation taxes and succession duties.

Apart from special accounts such as housing loans and amortization of borrowings from the federal government for which individual arrangements are made, the Yukon government in the year ended March 31, 1972 spent \$18.9 million on operating accounts and another \$5.1 million on capital projects. Of the total expenditure, the territorial government raised \$6.7 million locally and recovered another \$6.6 million from the federal government via shared-cost programs. The remainder was provided by the federal government under its financial agreement with the Territory.

Commissioner, Council and Council staff of the Yukon Territory as at December 31, 1972
Commissioner, J. Smith
Clerk of the Council, C.W. Pearson
Legal Adviser, P. O'Donoghue
Executive Committee: J. Smith, chairman; G.A.
MacIntyre, acting vice-chairman and member;
G.K. Fleming, Hilda Watson, Norman S.

4.3.2.2 Northwest Territories

Chamberlist, members

The Temporary Government Act of 1869 was the first legislation by the federal government to establish government in the newly acquired Rupert's Land and North-Western Territory. However, functional territorial government really dates from the North-West